Damn kids.
Mar. 24, 2004


I have noticed that I have become one of those suburban assholish people. The kids that live next door to us are constantly making noise and I�m all Mr. Heckles about it, or Mrs. Heckles because I am, in fact, a girl. I�m always saying things like, �Jesus � I think they are breaking down the wall� and �at this rate they�ll kill each other before the week is out�.

On some level, I do feel sorry for these kids because they live in a itty bitty townhouse that is attached on both sides, to us and another one. I never see any parents come out of that house so I am assuming that they either work a lot or we have our own little Neverneverland right next door.

But, man. These kids stand in front of their house and just scream. About nothing. And everything. It doesn�t matter if they are just screaming to one of their friends about giving back a ball or the rules to a game. The thing that sucks about this is the fact that they are loud as hell. In a normal neighborhood where everyone isn�t living on top of one another it would be bad enough but townhouses make it more of a �my front yard is your yard� because they are only as wide as the house, which is about fifteen feet, including the walkway. These kids piss me off so much that I am run-on sentencing. I only do that when I feel really passionate or pissed about something.

And then there is the whole spill over problem because these kids have no concept of boundaries. Tonight I pulled up and found a volleyball in my front �yard�. A few days ago I almost killed myself tripping over a scooter-thingy. For as many toys that these kids have I never really see them using them. I think they just toss them around outside and then go back in to continue tearing up the inside of their house.

The smallest kid is really nice but really annoying as well. I was shoveling snow in like January and I was talking to him because he was outside hanging out. It�s hard to ignore the constant questioning of �why?� so I just talked to him. I didn�t think anything of it until he invited himself over to our house to watch movies. I got out of it by saying that I was very busy with schoolwork.

For the longest time, he would ring the doorbell and ask if we were walking our dog. I am assuming he means to ask if we will be walking our dog because he wants to walk his dog with ours. Our dog is honestly ten times bigger than his (he has a Chihuahua). There are so many levels why a dog walking party wouldn�t work � this is one. The other is that I just don�t want to jump up and take the dog out everytime he asks. And Olive (our dog) goes into happy fits when the doorbell rings so it takes about five minutes to calm her down.

So, as you can see I�ve become one of those people that never looks their neighbors in the eye for fear that I will have to hold a conversation, an impromptu movie viewing where the guests invite themselves over, or a barrage of questions about when my dog goes outside.

At least I don�t yell and cuss at my flowers, like the guy a few doors down. HE is a little scary. I�m not scary � yet. I'm sure given enough time I will be muttering to myself as I shuffle to the mailbox in my bathrobe. I have already shaken my head in confusion this week as I said, "kids these days".



old rants - new shockers

-all work copyright Jennifer Mislinski-
Email
Cast
JennSpeak
Guestbook
Design
Image
Profile
Notes
Host

Reads:
nihilistbear
misstress
twily
alphabravo
morbidium
mzauberman
wicked-sezzy
diaryquotes

Slacking on your RANT reading? Well, here's what's been going on lately:

- - Jan. 06, 2005

another new entry @ creativejenn.com - Apr. 15, 2004

New entry @ creativejenn.com - Apr. 07, 2004

creativejenn.com - Apr. 05, 2004

I'm busy but you'll forget my crappy entry when you see my dog! - Mar. 29, 2004