Like sand through the hourglass...so are the days of my life.
Feb. 04, 2004


OK. I made the mistake of leaving the TV while I was having a salad and reading some email. Now, I�m totally into Days of Our Lives. The dialogue is terrible, it seems that everyone is fighting to get the words out � just really, really bad. But there is something just so bad about it that I am completely intoxicated by it. I have not watched a soap since high school but I somehow have caught up almost completely in the short 15 minutes that it has been on.

Some people look a little older, a little more Hollywood haggard but everybody is still nasty to each other for odd reasons that no normal person can explain and living above the means that the story allows (like being homeless but still having a little bling � wtf?). If I wrote crap like this in my Creative Writing class they�d send me back to Comp 101 � or kick me out of the English program altogether. I�m not trying to knock soap writers; everyone has their personal style in writing that makes them unique. I don�t want an all out war between me and some writer�s union. I�m just asking that they be a little less, uh, creative and a little more realistic. I mean, Sammy and her baby�s daddy are still having problems and are at the moment skirting around the issue that they both are hot for each other. It�s funny � soap operas, which are targeted to an older crowd (I am guessing) have a lower vocabulary level than that of Dawson�s Creek or The O.C., which is targeted to the younger crowd. What are the writers of TV trying to tell the public? Are we getting stupider as we get older?

And Sammy and Lucas are STILL not to the point yet. Just bump uglies and get it over with! She thinks he�s hot, he thinks she�s hot � what is the problem? No one is diseased or spoken for. If normal people took this long to hook up no one under the age of 60 would be having sex. People would be getting false teeth about the same time as they loose their virginity. Oy! And Marlena off killing people all the time?

Or maybe this is an accurate picture of what families are really like, minus the serial killer moms and evil twins. Hmmm�.could soap operas BE a commentary on the lives of people in our modern society? Should I write a thesis on this?



old rants - new shockers

-all work copyright Jennifer Mislinski-
Email
Cast
JennSpeak
Guestbook
Design
Image
Profile
Notes
Host

Reads:
nihilistbear
misstress
twily
alphabravo
morbidium
mzauberman
wicked-sezzy
diaryquotes

Slacking on your RANT reading? Well, here's what's been going on lately:

- - Jan. 06, 2005

another new entry @ creativejenn.com - Apr. 15, 2004

New entry @ creativejenn.com - Apr. 07, 2004

creativejenn.com - Apr. 05, 2004

I'm busy but you'll forget my crappy entry when you see my dog! - Mar. 29, 2004