Last year's Easter gathering was totally a cake walk.
Mar. 05, 2004


Kelly sent me her draft invite for her Annual Easter gathering. They always order a case of wine from Husch in California and someone always get ridiculously drunk. The kind of drunk where someone comments �Man, I remember my first beer�. Stemware was broken last year and little dances were done. It was Luke�s turn last year to find out about the dangerously strong Husch wine so all of the accidental breaking and dancing was his doing. We sat out on their balcony above Bethesda, it was sunny and gorgeous and Luke ended up getting quite tipsy by about 4 or 5PM. I just watched in horror as my husband morphed into a red-faced prancing man and also played a bit part as the guy who kept hitting his head on the glass door that his chair was in front of because his neck had given up at some point.

We all still laugh about this because some of really quality phrases came out of that night, none of which Luke remembers, which makes it more funny. For whatever reason we were all talking about skin disorders at one point, I�m not sure why but it yielded a now famous quote from Luke. As we were talking about it, he lifted his head a little, as if to shake of the drunken haze, tried to focus correctly and said with a little huff, �Hey...ezcema�s no cake walk!�. He even used the obligatory �drunk finger�, where they point in no particular direction to emphasize their point. Analysis of this phrase and the general personality of Luke will show that not only is it funny because Luke never gets that drunk, or if he does I am too drunk myself to notice, and the drunk finger is always funny. The other thing is the fact that he used the phrase �cake walk� which he not only has never used in his life, but has no recollection of at all.

And at one point, Kelly told the slightly red-faced Luke that he was just too cute and Luke replied by prancing around. Never, ever had I seen this man prance. It was like he was on a runway and feeling the funk. At that point I just said, �Yeah...it�s time to go home, NOW.� Of course, I had to take a second to get over my shock because it was just so weird to see him like that. After we got him out of the apartment and into the car all he said before he passed out was �please don�t hit any potholes, I don�t think I�ll be able to take it�. The embarrasment was so worth it because every once in a while someone will say that something is �no cake walk� and we all will just howl � and Luke will just stand there trying to understand. He�s good natured about it though, each time someone brings it up I can tell he�s racking his brain to see if he can remember it.

This year, we�re gonna rent a room in their building for the night so we can truly take advantage of the drunken revelry. The party starts at 3PM this year and goes until �Luke falls down (so come early!)� I laughed so hard when I saw that that I almost pulled a muscle.



old rants - new shockers

-all work copyright Jennifer Mislinski-
Email
Cast
JennSpeak
Guestbook
Design
Image
Profile
Notes
Host

Reads:
nihilistbear
misstress
twily
alphabravo
morbidium
mzauberman
wicked-sezzy
diaryquotes

Slacking on your RANT reading? Well, here's what's been going on lately:

- - Jan. 06, 2005

another new entry @ creativejenn.com - Apr. 15, 2004

New entry @ creativejenn.com - Apr. 07, 2004

creativejenn.com - Apr. 05, 2004

I'm busy but you'll forget my crappy entry when you see my dog! - Mar. 29, 2004