Heckling Hemingway
Jan. 29, 2004


I think I�m in some serious trouble. A week-ish into the semester and I�m already sick of �close reading�. Last night, at the Recitation part of my English Synthesis class, 100 of us performed a close reading of an Ernest Hemingway vigniette. Woo-heeewww! Not only do I absolutely detest Ernest Hemingway but I think the academic community should let the whole deal with deconstructing a work (or in this case, piece of shit) GO. I think it is good to a point, to get your brain working but after a while it gets a little stale.

Is this bad? I really enjoy reading but sometimes I just get tired of analyzing every little thing in it. I am sure that there aren�t many authors that just can wait for their years of work to be reduced to drivel with the aid of a few undergrads and one �discussion mediator� as they are called, normally they are called professors.

Don�t get me wrong, I enjoy my classes � minus Spanish because I miss my professor from last semester � I just have a hard time enjoying the work itself sometimes. I don�t want to be one of those critical people that analyzes everything in the world and ends up in a bar alone screaming about the injustice of the modern whatever. I guess, surprisingly, I�m just not as cynical as I thought.

I�m taking 18 credits � 12 of them are English, then an Art History and Spanish. My Creative Writing class stresses me the most because I haven�t been in that vein of thought for so long. I have to write a short story for Monday and I am hoping that I can get it finished fast enough for �yall to read it and critique me. I am sure you are just excited as all hell now. Yeah, I thought so. The inner working of Jenn�s brain � yay.

I have to get to work on a few things before I head to class. Happy Thursday!



old rants - new shockers

-all work copyright Jennifer Mislinski-
Email
Cast
JennSpeak
Guestbook
Design
Image
Profile
Notes
Host

Reads:
nihilistbear
misstress
twily
alphabravo
morbidium
mzauberman
wicked-sezzy
diaryquotes

Slacking on your RANT reading? Well, here's what's been going on lately:

- - Jan. 06, 2005

another new entry @ creativejenn.com - Apr. 15, 2004

New entry @ creativejenn.com - Apr. 07, 2004

creativejenn.com - Apr. 05, 2004

I'm busy but you'll forget my crappy entry when you see my dog! - Mar. 29, 2004