good-bye girl - please live up to your title and go away
Jan. 15, 2004


OK. TNT has been running promos for their made-for-TV movie, The Good-Bye Girl. In proper TNT network fashion, they are showing the movie for three days in a row. This, to me, is just too much.

First of all, Hootie and the Blowfish made a video for the theme song and it is on during every commercial break � day or night. They also have a slew of commercials running constantly. I have heard of this movie or play or whatever but have never seen it � but you can bet your ass that I sure as hell won�t because I am already tired of the thought of it. I don't think it has actually been on TV yet, which is really sad.

It�s not like I was all hyped up about it anyway but I just find the whole thing so incredibly annoying. It is probably a really good story, too. Sucks when 'the man' ruins things for me. But I'm not worried because someday there will be no 'man' for all of us to bitch about and condemn - there will be a 'woman' and she will have the good sense to know when enough is enough.

Anyway, the thing that gets me other than the constant bombardment of this made-for-TV movie is that Hootie and the Blowfish are doing the theme song. This�makes me feel�old. I remember listening to H&B in high school � I had all of their, uh, tapes (CD players were still out of my unemployed reach) and even a t-shirt. I thought they were just IT. Of course, this romance between us only lasted for a couple of months before I discovered other bands, but our love affair was torrid, nonetheless. I feel as if I'm one step away from hearing all of my high school favorites on an infomercial for the 'golden oldies'.

I just wonder what the marketing department was thinking when they decided to accost the viewers every fifteen to thirty minutes with that damn song that I just can�t get out of my head right now. If she�s such a �good-bye� girl can�t she just suck it up and bid the world farewell already?

Or�maybe I just watch too much TV and this whole annoyance just means I should read more or something. I do watch a lot of Law and Order because I love trying to figure it all out before everyone else does but I am usually all, �Oh � wow � those detectives are so smart�, which makes me feel stupid that I can�t figure out a mystery/cop show and that is why I like to watch COPS � it makes me feel smart. And, it keeps me in touch with my redneck side.

Nothing is funnier than the episode where a guy gets arrested for coke or something and says, �that�s not mine� when talking about the drugs and when the cops ask him why they were in his pants he replies, �well, these aren�t my pants�. HA! Now that is quality TV!



old rants - new shockers

-all work copyright Jennifer Mislinski-
�
Email
Cast
JennSpeak
Guestbook
Design
Image
Profile
Notes
Host

Reads:
nihilistbear
misstress
twily
alphabravo
morbidium
mzauberman
wicked-sezzy
diaryquotes

Slacking on your RANT reading? Well, here's what's been going on lately:

- - Jan. 06, 2005

another new entry @ creativejenn.com - Apr. 15, 2004

New entry @ creativejenn.com - Apr. 07, 2004

creativejenn.com - Apr. 05, 2004

I'm busy but you'll forget my crappy entry when you see my dog! - Mar. 29, 2004