Cheese Heads for a weekend
Dec. 30, 2003


I probably did the most un-Jenn thing ever yesterday morning. I was looking around on the internet trying to plan our long weekend trip that we are going on for our Anniversary and Luke�s Birthday. We don�t normally do big celebrations for birthdays, anniversaries, etc. because we usually don�t have the cash, time or energy to plan anything. Usually we end up ordering a pizza and consuming a bottle (or two) of wine. But this year I decided that we�d take a weekend trip somewhere because all of our vacation time for the past four years has been used up going to people�s weddings or to visit sick parents.

Anyway, I was going to take Luke to the Les Paul factory thingy in Maryland because they take you through the whole deal and show you how they make them and stuff. Then we were going to stay outside of Annapolis then drive to Philly the next day. But I found something so much cooler (and unfortunately, a little more expensive)!

At first I was going to surprise Luke and not tell him but as the minutes passed the prices for tickets, travel and hotel rooms was just skyrocketing so I had to tell him that I was taking him to Green Bay to see the Packers Playoff Game. As he tried to call his boss to make sure he could take the time off I continued planning. This is probably the most un-Jenn thing I have ever done because of the fact that I am generally not a spur of the moment person � I like having a master plan for travel. I am one of those people that travels with a little manila folder that is filled with backup info for flights, cars, etc. but I somehow abandoned the thought of planning while clicking and mousing frantically yesterday morning trying to get everything confirmed. We have the major stuff planned because one can't just camp out in Wisconsin in January. But this is so not like me to be so "hey, let's spend a hell of a lot of money to go to a football game, let's get on a plane and leave town to see some football". Must have been all of the coffee I drank yesterday morning because I'm usually the voice of reason within the relationship that is Luke and Jenn (I know, shocking!).

Actually GETTING the tickets to the game, the hotel and the plane tickets was just as stressful and emotional as I will probably be AT the game during the final moments. As I would hit the little button to confirm or book something I would get a screen telling me that it was already gone. The dog got a really good lesson in expletives yesterday as a result but finally I got everything figured out and when I did I raised my hands in victory as if I had scored a winning touchdown at the Super Bowl or just bought the last pair of badass shoes that will ever be made or something.

So, we are leaving at like 6AM from the airport and will arrive in the Midwest around 10AM � the beer drinking and cheese and sausage eating will probably not stop until we leave on Sunday. I love Wisconsin � everybody is so nice and they all have those cute little accents �ya knooow? And chesse curds. And beer. It�s like a completely different world up there � love it.

Luke is going to try to explain how the game of football actually works because I have spent my life not really understanding. I just yell when everyone else does and it has worked so far. I�m so excited. I�m gonna get one of those silly cheese hats � I probably won�t wear it but at least I will have one.



old rants - new shockers

-all work copyright Jennifer Mislinski-
Email
Cast
JennSpeak
Guestbook
Design
Image
Profile
Notes
Host

Reads:
nihilistbear
misstress
twily
alphabravo
morbidium
mzauberman
wicked-sezzy
diaryquotes

Slacking on your RANT reading? Well, here's what's been going on lately:

- - Jan. 06, 2005

another new entry @ creativejenn.com - Apr. 15, 2004

New entry @ creativejenn.com - Apr. 07, 2004

creativejenn.com - Apr. 05, 2004

I'm busy but you'll forget my crappy entry when you see my dog! - Mar. 29, 2004