Celebration and fear in Washington, DC. - we are SO stressed!
Dec. 14, 2003


First, I just found out this morning that Saddam Hussein has been captured. I am happy for the people of the Middle East. Hopefully, this will be helpful to them. I was so excited when I heard that the dog and I had a little impromptu party - I yayed and danced around and, being the weird dog mom that I am, I let Olive get some of the stuff out of her stocking. She didn�t know what the hell was going on except for the fact that she got to eat pig ears (I know - gross - but apparently they are like Rice Krispy Treats for dogs)

Personally, I hope that Saddam becomes somebody�s girlfriend in prison. Is that bad? If he makes it to prison I hope that he lives in there long enough to get passed around like a slutty cheerleader trying to �get votes� for Homecoming Queen. Can you imagine a guy walking around saying �Saddam is my bitch�? Ha! That would be hilarious! But, the real world will probably not let me (and probably others who feel the same way) have that because he�ll probably end up in some kind of solitary deal. Reality sucks, man.

OK...on to my crazily boring life here in suburban Virginia. Luke went out to a bar crawl last night and I stayed here. One reason is that I have my last final tomorrow and I think that being hungover and trying to study would totally suck. Also, I didn�t want to be the only girl. So, I hung out and went to sleep early.

Woke up to lots of snow this morning but I have yet to hear much about it on the news because of the Saddam thing. I actually welcome this because the news people tend to completely sensationalize things around here. Once a snowflake is seen anywhere in the metro area, the news people are stationed all over the place with yardsticks to measure the accumulation and they always find the one person that is completely overwhelmed by the situation. They always get the guy who is like �I didn�t even go to sleep last night because I knew it would take me forever to get to work and I was right because I�ve been on the road for four hours.� I swear they pay these people off.

We had an �earthquake� the other day and, though I didn�t even feel it 4.2-ish �waves of terror� the newspeople and the government were all up in arms. The news folks were stationed at bridges to report on what the structural engineers had to say about their safety. To which I replied, �What the fuck?�.

I hate to be all Crocodile Dundee about earthquakes (�that�s not a knife, THIS is a knife�) but this �earthquake� is so not an earthquake. If you don�t feel the earth move then NOTHING happened. It�s so funny - as I am typing this a commercial for the local news came on and said �NBC 4 is working for you...after our area was jolted by an earthquake, News 4 was there...Helping you to keep calm and stay informed� . Dude, let me watch the news for six hours about the earthquake as I clean up the devastation to my home, which would consist of moving the stuff on the one shelf that was affected the centimeter that they were �jolted�. It�s not any wonder that people here are wound so tightly - but at least there is a forum on the NBC 4 website where people can share their trying experience.

old rants - new shockers

-all work copyright Jennifer Mislinski-
Email
Cast
JennSpeak
Guestbook
Design
Image
Profile
Notes
Host

Reads:
nihilistbear
misstress
twily
alphabravo
morbidium
mzauberman
wicked-sezzy
diaryquotes

Slacking on your RANT reading? Well, here's what's been going on lately:

- - Jan. 06, 2005

another new entry @ creativejenn.com - Apr. 15, 2004

New entry @ creativejenn.com - Apr. 07, 2004

creativejenn.com - Apr. 05, 2004

I'm busy but you'll forget my crappy entry when you see my dog! - Mar. 29, 2004